Saarländischer Verdichtungsraum

Saarland Conurbation

Important, old-industrialised conurbation in Germany.

The Saarland conurbation developed with the rise of the industrialization at the beginning 19th century. Because of its extensive mineral resources it became a centre of mining and iron and steel industries. These activities went along with a severe environmental pollution typical for these industries. Nowadays, the importance of these old industries is decreasing while the automotive industry and its subcontractors, the ceramic industry as well as computer sciences and information technologies are gaining importance.

The early and intensive industrialization has led to an excellent traffic infrastructure. Furthermore, the small scale segmentation of large parts of the Saarland has resulted in a high per capita car rate in Germany.

Population density increased rapidly in the late 17th, early 18th and especially in the 19th century. Since the 1980s, however, the population declines.

Two thirds of the Saarland is covered by deciduous mixed forest. This makes the Saarland, next to Hessen and Baden-Württemberg, one of the federal states (Bundesländer) with the highest percentage of forest. In contrast to forests in other federal states, the percentage of deciduous trees is highest in the Saarland.

The sampling area covers about 625 km2 and includes three polluted areas as defined in the Federal Immission Control Act and in the Polluted Site Regulation of the Saarland administration.

Sub-areas

  • Core zone of the Saarland industrial region along the major waterway Saar
  • Forest ecosystem between the industrial regions of the Saarland and Lorraine
  • The former centre of mining and coal, iron and steel industry becomes the Regional Park Saar

Specimen

Analytes

Sampling period

1985 - 2019

Saarländischer Verdichtungsraum

Bedeutendes, altindustriealisiertes Ballungszentrum Deutschlands.

Der Saarländische Verdichtungsraum entstand mit dem Beginn der Industrialisierung im 19. Jahrhundert. Aufgrund der Bodenschätze entwickelte er sich zu einem Zentrum des Bergbaus, der Eisen- und Stahlindustrie mit den damit verbundenen typischen und sehr umfangreichen Umweltverschmutzungen. Heute nimmt die Bedeutung dieser Industriezweige ab und die der Automobil-, Automobil-Zulieferer-, Keramikindustrie sowie der Informatik- und der Informationsindustrie stark zu.
Durch seine frühe und intensive Industrialisierung besteht im Saarland eine sehr gute Verkehrs-Infrastruktur. Die in weiten Teilen des Landes kleinräumige Gliederung hat dazu geführt, dass heute im Saarland die meisten Pkw im Verhältnis zur Bevölkerungszahl in einem deutschen Flächenland zugelassen sind.
Nach einer rasanten Bevölkerungsentwicklung im späten 17. und frühen 18. und besonders im 19. Jahrhundert ist die Bevölkerungsentwicklung seit 1980 wieder deutlich rückläufig.

Ein Drittel der Fläche des Saarlandes ist mit sommergrünem Mischwald bedeckt. Damit hat das Saarland gemeinsam mit Hessen und Baden-Württemberg die prozentual größte Waldfläche Deutschlands. Darüber hinaus nimmt hier der Laubwald im Vergleich zu allen anderen Bundesländern den größten Anteil der Gesamtwaldfläche ein.

Das Probenahmegebiet ist ca. 625 km2 groß. In ihm liegen drei nach dem Bundesimmissionsschutzgesetz und der Belastungsgebietsverordnung des Saarland als Belastungsräume deklarierte Flächen.

Gebietsausschnitte

  • Kernraum der Saarländischen Industrieregion an der Großschifffahrtsstraße Saar
  • Ballungsraumnahes Waldökosystem zwischen den Industrieregionen des Saarlandes und Lothringens
  • Aus dem einstigen Zentrum für Bergbau und Montanindustrie wird der Regionalpark Saar

Probenarten

Analyte

Untersuchungszeitraum

1985 - 2019