The investigations are carried out in 6 ecosystem types.

Ecosystem means a dynamic complex of plant, animal and micro-organism communities and their non-living environment interacting as a functional unit (original text of the Convention on Biological Diversity, 5 June 1992).

Agrarian Ecosystems Agrarian ecosystems cover more than half the surface area of Germany and thus decisively shape the landscape.
Ecosystems close to conurbations Ecosystems close to conurbations, or urban-industrial ecosystems, are areas of human activity where natural factors are in part significantly modified or annulled and, especially in built-up areas, only function in very fragmented ways.
Forestry ecosystems Almost a third of Germany is covered in forest, most of it under productive forestry management.
Marine ecosystems The structure and function of marine ecosystems are not the only factors to take into consideration when analysing marine organisms. All major changes at sea also induce changes in terrestrial ecosystems. The seas serve to regulate the weather, as a transport network, as a source for numerous food and mineral substances and as the final link in the chain of ecosystem loading.
Nearly natural terrestrial ecosystems Nearly natural ecosystems are exceptional in that they have preserved their ancient structure and function without significant human manipulation.
Riverine ecosystems Riverine ecosystems can be considered as the final link in the functional structure of the terrestrial environment, as they function as a sink and a vehicle for discharges from the mainland, which they pass on to the marine ecosystems.

Ökosysteme

Die Untersuchungen werden in 6 Ökosystemtypen durchgeführt.

Ökosystem bedeutet einen dynamischen Komplex von Gemeinschaften aus Pflanzen, Tieren und Mikroorganismen sowie deren nicht lebender Umwelt, die als funktionelle Einheit in Wechselwirkung stehen (offizielle Übersetzung des englischen Originaltextes der Biodiversitätskonvention vom 5. Juni 1992).

Agrar-Ökosysteme Agrar-Ökosysteme nehmen mehr als die Hälfte der Fläche Deutschlands ein und prägen somit entscheidend die Landschaft.
Ballungsraumnahe Ökosysteme Ballungsraumnahe oder auch urban-industrielle Ökosysteme sind Handlungsräume des Menschen, in denen Naturfaktoren zum Teil erheblich modifiziert oder außer Kraft gesetzt werden und besonders im Bebauungsraum nur noch fragmentarisch vorhanden sind.
Fließgewässer-Ökosysteme Fließgewässer-Ökosysteme können als Endglieder im Wirkungsgefüge der Landschaft bezeichnet werden, indem sie als Sammelbecken und Transportmedium des Festlandaustrags fungieren und ihn in die marinen Ökosysteme weiterleiten.
Forst-Ökosysteme Nahezu ein Drittel Deutschlands ist mit Wald bedeckt, der überwiegend forstwirtschaftlich genutzt wird.
Marine Ökosysteme Struktur und Funktion mariner Ökosysteme sind nicht allein von Bedeutung für marine Organismen.  Alle großen Veränderungen im Meer ziehen auch Wandlungen terrestrischer Ökosysteme nach sich. Die Meere sind Wetterregulator, Verkehrsweg, Quelle zahlreicher Nahrungs- und Mineralstoffe und Endglied der ökosystemaren Belastungskette.
Naturnahe terrestrische Ökosysteme Naturnahe Ökosysteme sind dadurch gekennzeichnet, dass ihre ursprüngliche Struktur und Funktionsweise ohne stärkere menschliche Beeinflussung erhalten geblieben ist.