Basics

Introduction

An environmental specimen bank (ESB) is an archive for samples that can be used to document and assess the quality of the environment in which we live. These specimens must be representative of a particular area, and be collected at regular intervals, to allow to monitor changes in the concentration of various (pollutant) substances over the course of time.

Procedures

Collecting - Processing - Storage - Analysis

Tasks and Targets

The Environmental Specimen Bank is a major component of the German environmental observation system. It provides a scientific basis for decisions by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB) concerning what action it considers necessary as a means of protecting the environment and monitoring the efficacy of such action.

Development and Organisation

The idea of creating an archive for environmental specimens was first proposed by German and American scientists in the early 1970s. Experts in various scientific disciplines got together for informal discussions, leading to the first international conferences held in 1977 and 1978 to define a concept for environmental specimen banking and to agree on the choice of bioindicators.

Concept

The official guidelines for the operation of the German Environmental Specimen Bank are laid down in a concept document.

Standard operating procedures

To achieve a high degree of quality assurance, every step in the procedure from sampling through transport, preparation and analysis of the specimen to long- term storage is the subject of binding Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) for each type of specimen.

Archive

The long-term storage of environmental and human specimens is regarded as the main task of the German Environmental Specimen Bank: The Environmental Specimen Bank provides a continuous historical record of the state of the environment in Germany.

Grundlagen

Einführung

Eine Umweltprobenbank (UPB) ist ein Archiv von Proben, mit denen die Qualität der Umwelt dokumentiert und bewertet werden kann. Diese Proben sollen für einen bestimmten Raum repräsentativ sein und sie müssen regelmäßig erhoben werden, um Veränderungen der (Schad)stoffbelastung im Laufe der Zeit verfolgen zu können.

Arbeitsabläufe

Sammeln - Aufbereiten - Lagern - Analysieren

Aufgaben und Ziele

Die Umweltprobenbank bildet ein zentrales Element der Umweltbeobachtung in Deutschland. Sie liefert dem Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit (BMUB) eine wissenschaftliche Grundlage, um Maßnahmen im Umwelt- und Naturschutz ergreifen und ihren Erfolg kontrollieren zu können.

Entwicklung und Organisation

Bereits Anfang der 70er Jahre des 20. Jahrhunderts schlugen deutsche und amerikanische Wissenschaftler eine Archivierung von Umweltproben vor. Nach ersten Diskussionen zwischen Wissenschaftlern unterschiedlicher Fachrichtungen fanden 1977 und 1978 internationale Tagungen über das Konzept von Umweltprobenbanken und die Auswahl von Bioindikatoren statt.

Konzeption

Der Betrieb der Umweltprobenbank ist in der Konzeption der Umweltprobenbank des Bundes verbindlich geregelt.

Standardarbeitsanweisungen

Um ein hohes Maß an Qualitätssicherung zu erreichen, sind alle Schritte von der Probenahme über den Probentransport, die Probenaufarbeitung und Analytik bis zur Langzeitlagerung in Standardarbeitsanweisungen (englisch Standard Operating Procedures (SOP)) für alle Probenarten verbindlich festgelegt.

Archiv

Um ein retrospektives Monitoring, also die Analyse der Proben von gestern mit den Methoden von morgen, zu ermöglichen, ist die Langzeitlagerung der Umwelt- und Humanproben die zentrale Aufgabe der Umweltprobenbank des Bundes: Die Umweltprobenbank stellt ein Archiv des Umweltzustandes Deutschlands zu den jeweiligen Probenahmezeitpunkten dar.