NP Bayerischer Wald

NP Bavarian Forest

Germany's first national park

The Bavarian Forest National Park (NP) is a characteristic low mountain range in Central Europe with extensive forests. The NP is situated in the middle of the Bavaria Forest which adjoins the Czech Republic’s Bohemian Forest in the east. Taken together, the Bavarian and the Bohemian Forest constitute the largest continuous forest in Central Europe. About one third of the area lies in an altitude above 1,000 metres.

In the north-east the NP is bordered by the Czech Republic’s Sumava Biosphere Reserve. The natural spruce forest of the mountain crests and plateaus are characteristic for both nature reserves. Taken together, both reserves cover an area of about 1,000 km2, thus constituting the largest cross-border national park in Central Europe. Today the development of both national parks is coordinated.

The NP Bayerischer Wald is characterized by a multitude of typical natural plant and animal communities. Striking weather and climate phenomena can be observed in the national park. For instance, the average temperature during winter and the yearly average are lower in the national park compared to similar heights in the Alps and in other low mountain ranges in southern Germany. During fall and winter the hillsides are often significantly warmer than the valleys, a phenomenon called temperature inversion.

The sampling area encompasses the whole region of the national park.

  • 75% of the area belongs to the core zone with complete protection of all natural processes. In this zone about 4500 hectares of old spruce have been destroyed by the bark beetle. By natural succession virgin forests begin to replace the destroyed trees.
  • The national park is part of the largest German nature reserve.
  • It is a Fauna-Flora-Habitat Area (FFH) and bird sanctuary of 24,250 hectares and is thus an important component of the European Biosphere Network.
  • The national park is used extensively for tourism.
  • Scientific work is one of the main tasks of national parks. Up to now, more than 680 scientific projects were carried out in the Bavarian National Park.

Sub-areas

WEG Markungsgraben Main investigation area in the core zone of the Bavarian Forest National Park

Specimen

Common spruce A major primary producer in semi-natural and anthropogenic affected ecosystems.
Beech As the most dominant deciduous tree species in Central Europe, it plays a significant role in most nearly natural and also anthropogenically influenced forest ecosystems up to an altitude of 1100 m.
Roe deer, one-year-old The roe deer is the most common of the larger herbivores (first order-consumer) to be found in the wild in Europe.
Soil Soil is livelihood and biosphere for humans, animals, plants and soil organisms. All the substances brought in are transported, transformed and/or accumulated in the soil.

Analytes

Metals Eighty percent of all elements on earth are metals
Nonmetals Only eighteen elements in the periodic table
Chlorohydrocarbons Group of organic compounds with at least one covalently bonded chlorine atom
DDT and metabolites Toxic and persistent organochloropesticide
Hexachlorocyclohexane Several isomeric compounds among the group of chlorinated hydrocarbons
Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons Group of organic compounds with at least three condensed six-membered rings
Perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances Persistent organic compounds in which the hydrogen atoms at the carbon skeleton are completely (perfluoroalkyl) or partially (polyfluoroalkyl) substituted by fluorine atoms.
Stable Isotopes Atoms of one element with different weights
Perchlorate Salts of perchloric acid
Supplementary parameters Additional information for the interpretation of contamination data

Sampling period

1990 - 2016

Extended information

Links to external information and legislation

NP Bayerischer Wald

Deutschlands erster Nationalpark.

Der Nationalpark (NP) Bayerischer Wald umfasst eine für Mitteleuropa charakteristische, weitgehend bewaldete Mittelgebirgslandschaft. Er liegt im zentralen Teil des Bayerischen Waldes, der zusammen mit dem östlich angrenzenden Böhmerwald das größte zusammenhängende Waldgebiet Europas darstellt. Rund ein Drittel der Fläche liegt über 1.000 m NN.

Er grenzt an den tschechischen Nationalpark Sumava an. Die natürlichen Fichtenwälder der Bergkämme und hochgelegenen Plateaus sind das Charakteristikum beider Schutzgebiete. Mit rund 1.000 Quadratkilometern bilden beide Nationalparke den größten grenzüberschreitenden Nationalpark Mitteleuropas. Derzeit werden gemeinsame Strategien zur Entwicklung der beiden Nationalparke abgestimmt.

Der NP Bayerischer Wald ist mit einer Vielzahl naturraumtypischer Tier- und Pflanzengesellschaften ausgestattet. Im Nationalpark sind zahlreiche markante Wetter- und Klimaphänomene zu beobachten. So weist das Schutzgebiet im Vergleich mit entsprechenden Höhenlagen anderer süddeutscher Mittelgebirge und der Alpen die niedrigsten Mittelwerte bei den Lufttemperaturen in den Wintermonaten und im Jahresdurchschnitt auf. In den Herbst- und Wintermonaten sind häufig die Hanglagen wesentlich wärmer als die Tallagen, was als Temperaturinversion bezeichnet wird.

Das Probenahmegebiet umfasst den gesamten Nationalpark.

  • 75 % der Flächen stehen als Kernzone unter Prozessschutz. In dieser Zone wurden bis jetzt auf ca. 4.500 ha die Altfichten durch den Borkenkäfer abgetötet. Durch die natürliche Sukzession bilden sich dort derzeit urwaldartige Wälder heraus.
  • Der Nationalpark fügt sich in den größten bundesdeutschen Naturpark ein.
  • Erist sowohl als Fauna-Flora-Habitat Gebiet (FFH-Gebiet) als auch als Vogelschutzgebiet mit einer Gesamtfläche von 24.250 Hektar ein bedeutender Baustein im europäischen Biotopverbundnetz
  • Der Nationalpark wird intensiv touristisch genutzt.
  • Die wissenschaftliche Beobachtung und Forschung gehört zu den Hauptaufgaben eines Nationalparks. Bislang wurden im Nationalpark Bayerischer Wald über 680 Forschungsprojekte durchgeführt.

Gebietsausschnitte

WEG Markungsgraben Haupt-Forschungsbereich in der Kernzone des NP Bayerischer Wald

Probenarten

Fichte Bedeutender Primärproduzent in vielen naturnahen und anthropogen beeinflussten Ökosystemen.
Buche Dominierender Laubbaum in Mitteleuropa mit Vorkommen auf fast allen Böden sowie bis in über 1100 m Höhe.
Reh, einjährig Die kleinste und häufigste Hirschart Europas.
Boden Der Boden ist Lebensgrundlage und Lebensraum für Menschen, Tiere, Pflanzen und Bodenlebewesen. In ihm laufen Umbau- und Abbauprozesse von Stoffen ab und er kann diese filtern, anreichern, aber auch wieder frei setzen.

Analyte

Metalle Achtzig Prozent der Elemente auf der Erde gehören zu den Metallen
Nichtmetalle Nur achtzehn Elemente im Periodensystem
Chlorkohlenwasserstoffe Gruppe organischer Verbindungen mit wenigstens einem kovalent gebundenen Chloratom
DDT und Metabolite Toxisches persistentes Organochlorpestizid
Hexachlorcyclohexan Verschiedene isomere chemische Verbindungen aus der Gruppe der Chlorkohlenwasserstoffe
Polyzyklische Aromatische Kohlenwasserstoffe Gruppe organischer Verbindungen mit mindestens drei kondensierten Sechserringen
Perfluorierte und polyfluorierte Alkylverbindungen Persistente organische Verbindungen, bei denen die Wasserstoffatome am Kohlenstoffgerüst vollständig (perfluoriert) oder teilweise (polyfluoriert) durch Fluoratome ersetzt sind.
Stabile Isotope Atome eines Elements mit unterschiedlichem Gewicht
Perchlorat Salze der Perchlorsäure
Ergänzende Untersuchungsparameter Zusatzinformationen für die Interpretation von Belastungsdaten

Untersuchungszeitraum

1990 - 2016

Weiterführende Informationen

Verweise auf externe Informationen und gesetzliche Regelungen