WEG Wimbachtal

Alpine high valley

The sub-area covers an area of about 33 km2 with altitudes between 800 and 2000 metres. It is located within the catchment area of the small river Wimbach and is bordered to the north by the boundary of the National Park. In the middle of the sub-area lies the Wimbachtal, a mountain high valley of about 10 km length which is also the heart of the BR/NP Berchtesgaden.

The Wimbachtal is characterised by huge permanently moving debris-flows. At the end of the valley these are about 1.5 km wide. During the glacial period, the valley was carved out and deepened. Nowadays, the bedrock is more than 300 metres below the surface of the debris-flows that cover the valley. The dominant rock in this subarea is Ramsau dolomite.

  • The main hiking trail and the inns Wimbachschloß and Wimbachgrieshütte are the only direct anthropogenic impacts in this subarea.
  • A sampling site for beech and spruce as well as for soil is located in the sub-area.

Sampling site

  • Alpine high valley with a clastic rock of dolomite
  • The sampling site Wimbachtal is located in a high valley at an altitude of 1100 m.

Specimen

  • A major primary producer in semi-natural and anthropogenic affected ecosystems.
  • As the most dominant deciduous tree species in Central Europe, it plays a significant role in most nearly natural and also anthropogenically influenced forest ecosystems up to an altitude of 1100 m.
  • Soil is livelihood and biosphere for humans, animals, plants and soil organisms. All the substances brought in are transported, transformed and/or accumulated in the soil.

Analytes

Sampling period

1998 - 2018

Extended information

Links to external information and legislation

WEG Wimbachtal

Alpines Hochtal

Der Gebietsausschnitt ist ca. 33 km2 groß mit einer Höhenamplitude von 800 bis 2000 m. Er  orientiert sich am Wassereinzugsgebiet (WEG) des Wimbaches und wird im Norden durch die Nationalparkgrenze begrenzt. Im Zentrum des Gebietsauschnittes verläuft das Wimbachtal, ein ca. 10 km langes Hochtal im Zentrum des BR/NP Berchtesgaden.

Charakteristisch für das Wimbachtal sind die riesigen Schuttströme, die permanent in Bewegung sind. Im Bereich des Talschlusses sind sie ca. 1,5 km breit. Während der Eiszeiten wurde das Tal durch Gletscher ausgeschürft und vertieft. In heutiger Zeit liegt die Felssohle liegt mehr als 300 Meter unter der Oberfläche der das Talbett ausfüllenden Schuttströme. Der vorherrschende Gesteinstyp in diesem Gebietsausschnitt ist Ramsaudolomit.

  • Direkte Eingriffe durch den Menschen beschränken sich im Gebietsausschnitt WEG Wimbachtal auf die Nutzung des Hauptwanderweges und der Gaststätten Wimbachschloß und Wimbachgrieshütte.
  • Im Gebietsausschnitt existiert eine Probenahmefläche für Buchen und Fichten sowie für Boden.

 

Probenahmeflächen

  • Alpines Hochtal mit einem Schuttkörper aus Dolomitgestein.
  • Die Probenahmefläche Wimbachtal liegt im gleichnamigen Hochtal in 1100 m Höhe.

Probenarten

  • Bedeutender Primärproduzent in vielen naturnahen und anthropogen beeinflussten Ökosystemen.
  • Dominierender Laubbaum in Mitteleuropa mit Vorkommen auf fast allen Böden sowie bis in über 1100 m Höhe.
  • Der Boden ist Lebensgrundlage und Lebensraum für Menschen, Tiere, Pflanzen und Bodenlebewesen. In ihm laufen Umbau- und Abbauprozesse von Stoffen ab und er kann diese filtern, anreichern, aber auch wieder frei setzen.

Analyte

Untersuchungszeitraum

1998 - 2018

Weiterführende Informationen

Verweise auf externe Informationen und gesetzliche Regelungen