Blood plasma

Blood plasma sample
Photo: Fraunhofer IBMT

Ideal matrix for most chemicals because it is in contact with the whole organism and in equilibrium with the organs and tissues in that chemicals are being accumulated

Blood plasma is the liquid component of blood and serves as transport medium for the blood cells and for many substances like metabolic products, lipids, glucose, proteins, hormones, minerals, oxygen and carbon dioxide. It accounts for about 55 % of the whole blood. In contrast to serum, blood plasma still contains all coagulation factors.

In clinical diagnostics blood plasma is the most important body fluid. Essential trace and bulk elements are homeostatically regulated. Because of its lipid content, blood plasma can be used for concentration analysis of organic lipophilic xenobiotics. Depending on distribution of a substance between blood plasma and cell-compartment of the blood must be decided whether analyses in whole blood or blood plasma make sense.

Guideline for Sampling and Sample Processing Whole Blood and Blood Plasma (2015) - IBMT

Richtlinie zur Probenahme und Probenbearbeitung Vollblut und Blutplasma (2011) - UKM

Sampling area

Sampling sites (humans) 4 university cities as sampling areas.

Analytes

Metals Eighty percent of all elements on earth are metals
Nonmetals Only eighteen elements in the periodic table
Chlorohydrocarbons Group of organic compounds with at least one covalently bonded chlorine atom
Perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances Persistent organic compounds in which the hydrogen atoms at the carbon skeleton are completely (perfluoroalkyl) or partially (polyfluoroalkyl) substituted by fluorine atoms.
Supplementary parameters Additional information for the interpretation of contamination data

Sampling period

1982 - 2017

Extended information

Literature

Blutplasma

Blutplasma-Probe
Foto: Fraunhofer IBMT

Ideale Matrix für die meisten Chemikalien, da es im Kontakt mit dem gesamten Organismus und im Gleichgewicht mit den Organen und Geweben steht, in denen Chemikalien gespeichert werden

Als Blutplasma wird der flüssige Bestandteil des Blutes bezeichnet, der als Transportmittel für die Blutzellen und für eine Vielzahl von Stoffen (u.a. Stoffwechselprodukte, Fette, Glukose, Eiweiße, Hormone, Mineralien, Sauerstoff, Kohlendioxid) dient. Sein Anteil am Gesamtblut liegt bei ca. 55%.  Im Gegensatz zum Blutserum sind im Blutplasma noch alle Gerinnungsfaktoren enthalten.

In der klinischen Diagnostik stellt Blutplasma die wichtigste Körperflüssigkeit dar. Essentielle Spuren- und Bulk-Elemente werden hier homöostatisch geregelt. Aufgrund des Lipidgehalts kann es auch zur Gehaltsbestimmung von organischen, fettlöslichen Xenobiotika herangezogen werden. In Abhängigkeit von der Verteilung eines Stoffes zwischen Blutplasma und den zellulären Bestandteilen des Blutes ist zu entscheiden, ob Analysen im Vollblut oder im Blutplasma sinnvoll sind.

Richtlinie zur Probenahme und Probenbearbeitung Vollblut und Blutplasma (2015) - IBMT

Richtlinie zur Probenahme und Probenbearbeitung Vollblut und Blutplasma (2011) - UKM

Probenahmegebiete

Standorte Humanproben 4 Universitätsstädte als Standorte für die Probenahme.

Analyte

Metalle Achtzig Prozent der Elemente auf der Erde gehören zu den Metallen
Nichtmetalle Nur achtzehn Elemente im Periodensystem
Chlorkohlenwasserstoffe Gruppe organischer Verbindungen mit wenigstens einem kovalent gebundenen Chloratom
Perfluorierte und polyfluorierte Alkylverbindungen Persistente organische Verbindungen, bei denen die Wasserstoffatome am Kohlenstoffgerüst vollständig (perfluoriert) oder teilweise (polyfluoriert) durch Fluoratome ersetzt sind.
Ergänzende Untersuchungsparameter Zusatzinformationen für die Interpretation von Belastungsdaten

Untersuchungszeitraum

1982 - 2018

Weiterführende Informationen

Literaturangaben