Phthalates and substitutes

Phthalate diesters

General-purpose plasticizers for PVC and other polymers

Phthalates are esters of phthalic acid (1,2-benzenedicarboxylic acid) with different alcohols. They are mainly used in the production of polyvinyl chloride to soften the PVC. Plasticized PVC is used in numerous applications such as wire insulations, floor tiles and carpets, wall papers, foils, synthetic leather, packaging, medical products (e.g. blood bags and flexible tubes), toys, childcare articles and sporting goods. The mean phthalate content of plasticized PVC is 30–35%. Phthalates are not chemically bound to PVC and may therefore outgas or be released upon contact with fluids and fat. Due to their wide use, phthalates are ubiquitous in the environment.
Released phthalates strongly adsorb to particles and may be subject to long-range transport in the atmosphere.
In soils and sediments phthalates are persistent. They have a high potential for bioaccumulation. Some phthalates are endocrine disruptors and are suspected to be toxic for reproduction and development.

Some phthalates have been forbidden in childcare articles and toys in the European Union (EU) since 2005. Since 2015, use of the phthalates DEHP (bis(2-ethylhexyl)phthalate), DBP (dibutyl phthalate), BBP (benzyl butyl phthalate), DINP (di-isononyl phthalate), DIDP (di-isodecyl phthalate) and DNOP (di-n-octyl phthalate) is prohibited without a specific authorisation.

Due to the strong regulation, the alternative use of long chained phthalates and different substance classes is on the rise. Hexamoll® DINCH® (Diisononyl cyclohexane-1,2-dicarboxylate) is an example of these substitute plasticizers.

The above mentioned substances are degraded when entering the body. Therefore only their degradation products (metabolites) can be analysed. The first metabolites are monoesters which are further degraded to other metabolites.

Recommended analysis examples

Sub-groups

Dimethyl phthalate Short-chain phthalate
Diethyl phthalate Short-chain phthalate
Di-n-butyl phthalate Short-chain phthalate
Diisobutyl phthalate Short-chain phthalate whose use in packaging materials for food has been withdrawn voluntarily by the industry in 2007
Di-n-pentyl phthalate A phthalate, which might soon be subject to more severe regulation
Dicyclohexyl phthalate Phthalate with two cyclohexane rings as ester rests
Di-n-octyl phthalate Structural isomer of DEHP
Diethylhexyl phthalate Formerly the world's most important plasticizer among the chemical group of phthalates
Diisononyl phthalate Mixture of phthalate diesters differing slightly in branching of the alcohol chains and main substitute of DEHP as plasticizer
Di(2-propylheptyl)phthalate (DPHP) Analytically difficult to grasp
Butylbenzyl phthalate Only phthalate of commercial importance with differing side chains, one of them representing a benzyl group
Hexamoll® DINCH® Important substitute for phthalates

Specimen

Students Student groups with an even number of female and male students at the age of 20 to 29.

Sampling area

Sampling sites (humans) 4 university cities as sampling areas.

Sampling period

1988 - 2017

Extended information

Links to external information and legislation

Literature

Phthalate und Ersatzstoffe

Phthalsäureester

Weichmacher für PVC und andere Kunststoffe

Phthalate sind Ester der Phthalsäure (1,2- Benzoldicarbonsäure) mit verschiedenen Alkoholen (Phthalsäureester). Sie dienen hauptsächlich als Weichmacher für den Kunststoff Polyvinylchlorid (PVC). Weich-PVC findet sich in zahlreichen Anwendungen, u.a. in Kabelummantelungen, Bodenbelägen, Tapeten, Folien, Kunstleder, Verpackungen, Medizinprodukten (Blutbeutel, Schläuche), Spielzeugen, Babyartikeln, Kleidung und Sportartikeln. Durchschnittlich enthält Weich-PVC 30-35% Phthalate. Da diese chemische nicht fest im Weich-PVC gebunden sind, können sie aus der Kunststoffmatrix ausgasen oder durch Flüssigkeiten oder Fette herausgelöst werden. Aufgrund ihrer breiten Anwendung sind sie daher in der Umwelt ubiquitär verbreitet. Sie adsorbieren bevorzugt an Partikel und können in der Atmosphäre über weite Strecken transportiert werden. In Böden und Sedimenten sind sie persistent.
Phthalate besitzen ein hohes Bioakkumulationspotenzial. Einige sind endokrin wirksam und stehen im Verdacht reproduktions- bzw. entwicklungstoxisch zu sein.

Einige Phthalate sind in der Europäischen Union (EU) seit 2005 in Babyartikeln und Kinderspielzeug verboten. Seit 2015 ist die Verwendung von DEHP (Di(2-ethylhexyl)phthalat), DnBP (Di-n-butylphthalat), BBP (Benzylbutylphthalat) und DiBP (Di-iso-butylphthalat) grundsätzlich nur noch mit spezifischer Zulassung erlaubt.
Aufgrund der verstärkten Regulierung werden vermehrt Ersatzstoffe wie längerkettige Phthalate oder Substanzen aus gänzlich anderen Stoffgruppen als Weichmacher eingesetzt. Hexamoll® DINCH® (1,2-Cyclohexancarbonsäurediisononylester) ist ein Beispiel für solch ein Substitut.

Gelangen die hier genannten Weichmacher in den Körper, werden sie dort abgebaut, so dass sie nur über ihre Abbauprodukte (Metabolite) erfasst werden können. Als Metabolite bilden sich zunächst die entsprechenden Monoester, aus denen dann weitere Abbauprodukte hervorgehen.

Empfohlene Analysenbeispiele

Untergruppen

Dimethylphthalat Kurzkettiges Phthalat
Diethylphthalat Kurzkettiges Phthalat
Di-n-butylphthalat Kurzkettiges Phthalat
Diisobutylphthalat Kurzkettiges Phthalat, auf dessen Einsatz in Verpackungsmaterialien für Lebensmittel die Industrie seit 2007 freiwillig verzichtet
Di-n-pentylphthalat Ein Phthalat, welches bald stärkerer Regulierung unterliegen könnte
Dicyclohexylphthalat Phthalat mit zwei Cyclohexan-Ringen als Esterreste
Di-n-octylphthalat Strukturisomer von DEHP
Diethylhexylphthalat Für lange Zeit der wichtigste Weichmacher aus der Gruppe der Phthalate weltweit
Diisononylphthalat Gemisch organisch-chemischer Verbindungen aus der Gruppe der Phthalate, das vor allem als Weichmacher dient und zunehmend anstelle von DEHP eingesetzt wird
Di(2-propylheptyl)phthalat Analytisch schwer zu fassen
Butylbenzylphthalat Einziges industriell bedeutsames Phthalat mit unterschiedlichen Seitenketten, wobei eine davon eine Benzylgruppe darstellt
Hexamoll® DINCH® Wichtiger Phthalatersatzstoff

Probenarten

Studentenkollektive Je zur Hälfte weibliche und männliche Studenten im Alter von 20 bis 29 Jahren.

Probenahmegebiete

Standorte Humanproben 4 Universitätsstädte als Standorte für die Probenahme.

Untersuchungszeitraum

1988 - 2015

Weiterführende Informationen

Verweise auf externe Informationen und gesetzliche Regelungen

Literaturangaben