Hexabromocyclododecane in herring gull eggs: Declining concentrations since the beginning of the 2000s

In eggs of herring gulls from the North Sea and the Baltic Sea only alpha-HBCD was detected in all samples whereas the concentrations of the two other diastereomers beta and gamma of technical HBCD were near or below the limit of quantification. At all three sampling sites HBCD levels were highest in 2000 and declined significantly thereafter.

Hexabromocyclododecane (HBCD) is a brominated flame retardant. Technical HBCD is a mixture of different diastereomers, each of which consists of a pair of enantiomers ((-)/(+)). The major component is gamma-HBCD which makes up for 75-89%, followed by beta-HBCD (10-13%) and alpha-HBCD (1-12%). HBCD is mainly used in polystyrene foams used for thermal insulation of buildings but it is also present in, e.g., housings of computers and TVs and back-coatings of textiles used in upholstery. HBCD is very effective and small amounts are sufficient to obtain the desired level of protection. Nevertheless, traces of HBCD are found in all environmental compartments today.

In the environment HBCD is persistent. It accumulates strongly in organisms and in the food web and is highly toxic to aquatic organisms. Because of these PBT-properties (Persistent, Bioaccumulative, Toxic) HBCD is classified as SVHC (substance of very high concern) under the REACh-Regulation. Furthermore, its inclusion in Annex 1 of the Stockholm Convention is discussed.

However, since no adequate alternatives exist, the use of HBCD is currently not restricted despite its unfavourable properties. In recent years, the manufacturers and processors of HBCD have initiated several programmes to reduce and control HBCD emissions (e.g., VECAP - Voluntary Emissions Control Action Programme and SECURE - Self Enforced Control of Use to Reduce Emissions).

Map of the sampling sites Trischen, Mellum, Heuwiese
Fig. 1: Map of the sampling sites Trischen, Mellum, Heuwiese Zoom in

To obtain an impression of the HBCD contamination of biota in German coastal waters, a retrospective monitoring was performed using herring gull egg pools from three sites at the North Sea and the Baltic Sea.

 

 

 

Results

Total HBCD concentrations (sum of all diastereomers) in herring gull eggs from the North Sea sampling sites Trischen and Mellum ranged between 13.8 and 74.8 ng/g lipid weight (lw) and 4.17-107 ng/g lw, respectively. In eggs from the Baltic Sea island Heuwiese total HBCD varied between 25.1-98.7 ng/g lw.

Of the three main diastereomers in technical HBCD only alpha-HBCD was detected in all egg samples whereas levels of beta- and gamma-HBCD were mostly below the LOQ. Levels of (-)-alpha-HBCD were slightly higher than those of (+)-alpha-HBCD in all samples.

Time trends were similar at all three sampling sites with peak concentrations around 2000 and declines thereafter.

During the monitoring period from 1988 to 2008, herring gull eggs from the North Sea island Trischen had mean (-)-alpha-HBCD levels of 7.7-41.1 ng/g lw and mean (+)-alpha-HBCD levels of 5.9-31.2 ng/g lw. After 2000, contamination decreased significantly to levels below the initial values.

Slightly higher HBCD contents were detected in gull eggs from the North Sea island Mellum, i.e. 2.1-66 ng/g lw (-)-alpha-HBCD and 1.7-40.8 ng/g lw (+)-alpha-HCBD. Again, concentrations peaked around 2000 and decreased afterwards. However, the decrease was somehow delayed and it was not before 2008 that 50% of the peak concentrations were reached.

At the Baltic Sea island Heuwiese monitoring started only in 1998. Mean HBCD levels in herring gull eggs ranged between 13.3-52.0 ng/g lw for (-)-alpha-HBCD and 11.6-44.7 ng/g lw for (+)-alpha-HBCD. A significant decline was observed after 2002 and levels were well below the initial values in 2008.

alpha-HBCD concentrations in herring gull eggs from the North Sea islands Mellum and Trischen and the Baltic Sea island Heuwiese
Fig. 2: alpha-HBCD concentrations in herring gull eggs from the North Sea islands Mellum and Trischen and the Baltic Sea island Heuwiese Zoom in

 

Significance of the findings

Even though gamma-HBCD is the major diastereomer in technical HBCD, the alpha-diastereomer dominates in herring gull eggs. These findings are in accordance with earlier studies. Three possible reasons are discussed in this context: (1) a better bioavailability of alpha-HBCD because of its higher water solubility, (2) a biotransformation of gamma- and beta-HBCD to alpha-HBCD, and (3) a rapid metabolisation of gamma- and beta-HBCD resulting in a dominance of the more stable alpha-diastereomer.

The observed decline in HBCD contamination of herring gull eggs at all three sampling sites suggests that the measures taken to reduce emissions have been effective and/or that HBCD consumption has decreased in recent years.

Recommended profiles

Specimen

Herring gull Inshore, the herring gull mainly feeds from the sea: upon fish, mussels, and crabs.

Analytes

Hexabromocyclododecane Brominated flame retardant in polystyrene foams and other plastics

Sampling area

Heuwiese Bird protection island in the northern part of the Kubitzer Bodden.
Trischen Bird island in the Schleswig-Holstein Wadden Sea.
Mellum Bird island in the Lower Saxon Wadden Sea

Extended information

Literature

Hexabromcyclododecan in Möweneiern: Abnehmende Konzentrationen seit dem Jahr 2000

In Möweneiern von Nord- und Ostsee wurde von den drei Hauptdiastereomeren alpha-, beta- und gamma, die in technischem HBCD enthalten sind, nur alpha-HBCD nachgewiesen. Die Konzentrationen von beta- und gamma-HBCD bewegten sich im Bereich der Nachweisgrenze. An allen drei Standorten wurden im Jahr 2000 die höchsten Konzentrationen gemessen. Danach nahmen die HBCD-Gehalte signifikant ab.

Hexabromcyclododecan (HBCD) gehört zur Gruppe der bromierten Flammschutzmittel. Technisches HBCD ist ein Gemisch aus verschiedenen Diastereomeren, die jeweils aus zwei Enantiomeren ((-)/(+)) bestehen. gamma-HBCD macht mit 75-89% den Hauptanteil aus, gefolgt von beta-HBCD mit 10-13% und alpha-HBCD mit 1-12%. HBCD wird z.B. in Wärmedämmplatten aus Polystyrolschaum aber auch in Gehäusen von Computern und Rückbeschichtungen von Textilien für Polstermöbel verwendet. Schon relativ geringe Mengen dieses hochwirksamen Flammschutzmittels reichen aus, um einen effektiven Schutz zu gewährleisten. Trotzdem sind Spuren von HBCD mittlerweile in allen Umweltkompartimenten nachweisbar.

In der Umwelt wird HBCD nur schwer abgebaut und reichert sich stark in Organismen und im Nahrungsnetz an. Darüber hinaus ist es sehr toxisch für aquatische Organismen. Diese PBT-Eigenschaften (Persistent, Bioakkumulierend und Toxisch) haben dazu geführt, dass HBCD im Rahmen der Chemikalienbewertung unter REACh als besonders besorgniserregender Stoff (SVHC - substance of very high concern) eingestuft wurde. Seine Aufnahme in Anhang 1 der Stockholmer Konvention wird derzeit diskutiert.

Trotz seiner negativen Eigenschaften darf HBCD momentan noch verwendet werden, da keine gleichwertigen Alternativen zur Verfügung stehen. Die HBCD-produzierenden und weiterverarbeitenden Industrien haben jedoch in den letzten Jahren verschiedene Programme zur Kontrolle und Reduktion von HBCD Emissionen initiiert (z.B. VECAP - Voluntary Emissions Control Action Programme und SECURE - Self Enforced Control of Use to Reduce Emissions).

Karte der Probenahmeflächen Trischen, Mellum, Heuwiese
Abb. 1: Karte der Probenahmeflächen Trischen, Mellum, Heuwiese Vergrößert anzeigen

Um einen Eindruck der HBCD-Belastung von Biota an deutschen Küsten zu gewinnen wurden Poolproben von Silbermöweneiern dreier Standorte in der Nord- und Ostsee im Rahmen eines retrospektiven Monitorings untersucht.

 

 

 

Ergebnisse

In Silbermöweneiern von den beiden Nordseestandorten Trischen und Mellum schwankten die HBCD-Konzentrationen (Summe aller Diastereomere) zwischen 13,8 und 74,8 ng/g Fett (Trischen) und 4,17-107 ng/g Fett (Mellum). Eier von der Ostseeinsel Heuwiese wiesen HBCD-Gesamtgehalte von 25,1- 98,7 ng/g Fett auf.

Von den drei Hauptdiastereomeren in technischem HBCD wurde nur alpha-HBCD in allen Eiproben nachgewiesen. Die Konzentrationen von beta- und gamma-HBCD bewegten sich dagegen meist im Bereich der Nachweisgrenze. In allen Proben war die Konzentration von (-)-alpha-HBCD geringfügig höher als die von (+)-alpha-HBCD.

Die zeitlichen Konzentrationsverläufe waren an allen drei Probenahmeflächen ähnlich: Bis zum Jahr 2000 stiegen die Konzentrationen an, danach ist eine deutliche Abnahme zu erkennen.

Silbermöweneier aus Trischen wiesen zwischen 1988 und 2008 mittlere Konzentrationen von 7,7-41,1 ng/g Fett (-)-alpha-HBCD und 5,9-31,2 ng/g Fett (+)-alpha-HBCD auf. Nach 2000 nahmen die Gehalte signifikant ab und erreichten im Jahr 2008 Werte unterhalb der Ausgangsgehalte von 1988.

Etwas höhere Belastungen fanden sich in Eiern aus Mellum. Hier lagen die Konzentrationen der beiden alpha-HBCD Enantiomere bei 2,1-66 ng/g Fett (-)-alpha-HBCD bzw. 1,7-40,8 ng/g Fett (+)-alpha-HCBD. Auch hier nahmen die Konzentrationen nach 2000 ab, die Abnahme war aber weniger ausgeprägt als in Trischen. Erst im Jahr 2008 waren die Konzentrationen auf etwa 50% der Werte von 2000 gesunken.

Die mittlere Belastung von Möweneiern von der Ostseeinsel Heuwiese lag zwischen 1998 und 2008 bei 13,3-52,0 ng/g Fett (-)-alpha-HBCD und 11,6-44,7 ng/g Fett (+)-alpha-HBCD. Eine signifikante Abnahme zeigt sich hier nach 2002. Im Jahr 2008 lagen die Konzentrationen deutlich unterhalb der Werte von 1998.

alpha-HBCD in Silbermöweneiern von den Nordseeinseln Mellum und Trischen und der Ostseeinsel Heuwiese
Abb. 2: alpha-HBCD in Silbermöweneiern von den Nordseeinseln Mellum und Trischen und der Ostseeinsel Heuwiese Vergrößert anzeigen

 

Bedeutung der Ergebnisse

Obwohl in technischem HBCD gamma-HBCD dominiert, findet sich in Möweneiern fast ausschließlich alpha-HBCD. Dieser Befund bestätigt frühere Untersuchungen. Als mögliche Gründe werden drei Faktoren diskutiert: (1) eine bessere Bioverfügbarkeit von alpha-HBCD wegen seiner höheren Wasserlöslichkeit, (2) eine Biotransformation von gamma- und beta-HBCD zu alpha-HBCD und (3) eine rasche Metabolisierung von gamma- und beta-HBCD, so dass es zu einer Anreicherung des langsamer abbaubaren alpha-Diastereomers kommt.

Die beobachtete Abnahme der HBCD-Belastung in Möweneiern an allen drei Umweltprobenbank-Standorten deutet darauf hin, dass die Maßnahmen zur Emissionsreduktion greifen und/oder dass der Verbrauch von HBCD in den letzten Jahren rückläufig ist.

Empfohlene Steckbriefe

Probenarten

Silbermöwe Die Silbermöwe ernährt sich in Küstennähe hauptsächlich aus dem Meer: von Fischen, Muscheln und Krebstieren.

Analyte

Hexabromcyclododecan Bromiertes Flammschutzmittel in Polystyrolschäumen und anderen Kunststoffen

Probenahmegebiete

Heuwiese Vogelschutzinsel im nördlichen Teil des Kubitzer Boddens.
Trischen Vogelinsel im Schleswig-Holsteinischen Wattenmeer.
Mellum Mellum – eine niedersächsische Vogelinsel

Weiterführende Informationen

Literaturangaben