Chrysene and triphenylene in spruce from the Saarland Conurbation

Declining contamination since the mid 1980s

Chrysene and triphenylene are products of combustion of fossil fuels and other organic material. Furthermore, chrysene is used in chemical industry. Both compounds are environmentally persistent and accumulate in organisms. In the samples they are analysed as sum of both compounds.

In spruce shoots from a sampling site in the national park Berchtesgaden (Gries oberhalb Schloss), a near-natural ecosystem in the Bavarian highlands, the concentrations of chrysene and triphenylene hardly changed during the entire observation period.
The situation is different in the spruce shoots from the sampling site Warndt in Saarland, a forest in the industrial conurbation of Saarbrücken. Until the mid-1990s, comparatively high concentrations of chrysene and triphenylene were still found there. However, the contamination decreased significantly over the following decades. The data demonstrate a decreasing air pollution in the industrial Saarland due to improved emission control measures.

Today, the measured concentrations in the ecosystem close to conurbations have by and large reached the near-natural background pollution. This is a clear success for the environmental and health protection in Germany.

Chrysene and triphenylene in spruce shoots from the Saarland Conurbation (Saarländischer Verdichtungsraum) and the national park Berchtesgaden
Fig. 1: Chrysene and triphenylene in spruce shoots from the Saarland Conurbation (Saarländischer Verdichtungsraum) and the national park Berchtesgaden Zoom in

 

Updated at: 2019-07-08

Recommended profiles

Specimen

Common spruce A major primary producer in semi-natural and anthropogenic affected ecosystems.

Analytes

Chrysene + Triphenylene Polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon with four connected six-membered rings

Sampling area

Saarländischer Verdichtungsraum Important, old-industrialised conurbation in Germany.

Chrysen und Triphenylen in Fichten aus dem Saarländischen Verdichtungsraum

Abnehmende Belastung seit Mitte der 1980er Jahre

Chrysen und Triphenylen werden bei der Verbrennung fossiler Brennstoffe und anderen organischen Materials freigesetzt. Chrysen wird darüber hinaus auch in der chemischen Industrie verwendet. Beide Stoffe sind in der Umwelt persistent und reichern sich in Organismen an. Sie werden in den Proben als Summe bestimmt.

In den Fichtentrieben aus dem Nationalpark Berchtesgaden (Gries oberhalb Schloss), einem naturnahen Ökosystem in den Bayerischen Hochlagen, haben sich die Chrysen- und Triphenylen-Gehalte über den gesamten Beobachtungszeitraum kaum verändert. Anders sieht es in den Fichtentriebe aus dem saarländischen Warndt aus, einem Wald in dem industriegeprägten Ballungsraum Saarbrücken. Bis Mitte der 1990er Jahre traten dort vergleichsweise noch sehr hohe Konzentrationen an Chrysen und Triphenylen auf. In den folgenden Jahrzehnten nahm die Belastung aber deutlich ab. Diese Befunde zeigen eine sinkende Luftverschmutzung in dem industriegeprägten Saarland, die auf verbesserte Emissionsschutzmaßnahmen zurückgeht.

Heute haben sich die Messwerte des ballungsraumnahen Ökosystems an die naturnahen Hintergrundbelastungen weitgehend angeglichen. Das ist ein deutlicher Erfolg für den Umwelt- und Gesundheitsschutz in Deutschland.

Chrysen und Triphenylen in Fichtentrieben aus dem Saarländischen Verdichtungsraum und dem Nationalpark Berchtesgaden
Abb. 1: Chrysen und Triphenylen in Fichtentrieben aus dem Saarländischen Verdichtungsraum und dem Nationalpark Berchtesgaden Vergrößert anzeigen

 

Aktualiert am: 08.07.2019

Empfohlene Steckbriefe

Probenarten

Fichte Bedeutender Primärproduzent in vielen naturnahen und anthropogen beeinflussten Ökosystemen.

Analyte

Chrysen + Triphenylen Polyzyklische aromatische Kohlenwasserstoffe mit vier verbundenen Sechserringen

Probenahmegebiete

Saarländischer Verdichtungsraum Bedeutendes, altindustriealisiertes Ballungszentrum Deutschlands.