Lead in human blood

The lead concentrations in whole blood dropped sharply after the Lead-in Petrol Act came into force; now, they are constantly low.

The lead concentration in whole blood of students from Münster dropped from over 70 µg/L (1981) in 26 years by approx. 83% to values below 15 µg/L (2008). In recent years, lead exposure has remained constantly low: in 2018 the mean lead concentration was only about 10 µg/L.
Based on the data of the Environmental Specimen Bank, the reference values for lead exposure of the general population were adjusted by the German Human Biomonitoring Commission in 2018: for 18-69 year old men from 90 µg/L to 40 µg/L and for 18-69 year old women from 70 µg/L to 30 µg/L. These values are still clearly undercut by the students. In view of the absence of an effective threshold and due to the MAK Commission's classification of lead in category 2 ("to be regarded as carcinogenic to humans"), the Commission has suspended the Human-Biomonitoring values for lead in the blood of all groups of people.

Lead in whole blood of the students from Münster since 1981
 Fig. 1: Lead in whole blood of the students from Münster since 1981 Zoom in
 

Comparison of East and West Germany

Early measurements  showed slightly higher levels of lead in the whole blood of volunteers from the cities in East-Germany (Halle/Saale and Greifswald) compared to the volunteers from the cities in West-Germany (Münster and Ulm). Current data from all four locations is now very similar. 

Lead in whole blood of the students from all sampling sites since 1992
Fig. 2: Lead in whole blood of the students from all sampling sites since 1992 Zoom in
 
Updated at: 2019-03-06

Recommended profiles

Specimen

Whole blood Ideal matrix for most chemicals because it is in contact with the whole organism and in equilibrium with the organs and tissues in those chemicals are being accumulated.

Analytes

Lead Naturally occurring poisonous heavy metal

Sampling area

Sampling sites (humans) 4 university cities as sampling areas.

Blei-Belastung des Menschen

Die Bleikonzentrationen im Vollblut sanken nach Inkrafttreten des Benzin-Blei-Gesetzes stark; mittlerweise sind sie konstant niedrig.

Die Bleikonzentration im Vollblut der Studierenden aus Münster sank von über 70 µg/L (1981) innerhalb von 26 Jahren um ca. 83% auf Werte unterhalb von 15 µg/L (2008). In den letzten Jahren verbleibt die Bleiexposition konstant niederig: 2018 betrug die mittlere Bleikonzentration nur noch ca. 10 µg/L.
Basierend auf den Daten der Umweltprobenbank wurden die Referenzwerte zur Bleibelastung der Allgemeinbevölkerung durch die Kommission Human-Biomonitoring im Jahr 2018 angepasst: für 18-69-jährige Männer von 90 µg/L auf 40 µg/L und für 18-69-jährige Frauen von 70 µg/L  auf 30 µg/L. Diese Werte werden von den Studierenden weiterhin deutlich unterschritten. In Anbetracht des Fehlens einer Wirkschwelle und auf Grund der Einstufung der MAK-Kommission von Blei in die Kategorie 2 („als Krebs erzeugend für den Menschen anzusehen“) hat die Kommission die Human-Biomonitoring-Werte für Blei im Blut aller Personengruppen ausgesetzt.

Blei im Vollblut der Studierenden aus Münster seit 1981
Abb. 1: Blei im Vollblut der Studierenden aus Münster seit 1981 Vergrößert anzeigen
 

Ost-West Vergleich

Waren zu Beginn der Messungen im Ost-West Vergleich zwischen den Kollektiven Halle/Saale und Greifswald sowie Münster und Ulm noch geringe Unterschiede feststellbar - mit tendenziell etwas höheren Bleigehalten im Vollblut von Studierenden aus den neuen Bundesländern - so sind die Daten aller vier Standorte mittlerweile sehr ähnlich. 

Blei im Vollblut der Studierenden aller UPB-Standorte seit 1992
Abb. 2: Blei im Vollblut der Studierenden aller UPB-Standorte seit 1992 Vergrößert anzeigen
 
Aktualisiert am: 01.04.2020

 

Empfohlene Steckbriefe

Probenarten

  • Ideale Matrix für die meisten Chemikalien, da es im Kontakt mit dem gesamten Organismus und im Gleichgewicht mit den Organen und Geweben steht, in denen Chemikalien gespeichert werden.

Analyte

Probenahmegebiete