Strontium

formula: Sr; CAS Registry Number: 7440-24-6

Alkaline earth metal with high reactivity that occurs naturally only in compounds with other elements

Strontium (Sr) is a ubiquitous metal. Due to its high chemical reactivity, it occurs naturally only in compounds with other elements. Most common are Sr-sulfate (celestine) and Sr-carbonate (strontianite). The concentration of strontium in ocean water is about 8 mg/L.

Commercial uses of strontium and especially its compounds include those in electronical- and electrical industry (e.g. as component of fluorescence substances, batteries, electrical capacitors, and optical devices), in glass industry, metalworking industry, pyrotechnics and in medicine. In tooth-pastes strontium chloride is used to reduce the temperature sensitivity of teeth.
Furthermore, it is used as tracer in archaeology and geology.

Strontium enters the environment during weathering of rocks and anthropogenic activities. It is found in the atmosphere, in soils and water where it is partly dissolved.

Strontium is taken up by plants. Humans are exposed to strontium via air, water and food.

Most strontium compounds are not toxic. Inside the organism strontium behaves like calcium and is incorporated in bones and teeth. Whereas the stable isotopes of strontium normally pose no health threat, incorporated radioactive 90Sr which is present in radioactive fall-out after nuclear explosions and nuclear accidents may lead to cancer and is thus classified as carcinogenic. The half-life of 90Sr is 28.6 years.

Specimen

Students Student groups with an even number of female and male students at the age of 20 to 29.

Sampling area

Sampling sites (humans) 4 university cities as sampling areas.

Sampling period

1993 - 2018

Strontium

Formel: Sr; CAS-Nummer: 7440-24-6

Sehr reaktionsfreudiges Erdalkalimetall, das in der Natur nur in Form von Verbindungen vorkommt

Strontium ist ein weit verbreitetes Metall, das wegen seiner Reaktionsfreudigkeit in der Natur aber nicht elementar sondern nur in Verbindungen vorkommt. Am häufigsten liegt es in Form von Sulfaten (Coelestin) und Carbonaten (Strontianit) vor. Im Meerwasser beträgt die Strontium-Konzentration etwa 8 mg/L.

Industriell werden Strontium und vor allem seine Verbindungen vielfältig genutzt, unter anderem in der Elektro- und Elektronikindustrie (als Bestandteil von Leuchtstoffen, Batterien, elektrischen Kondensatoren und optischen Geräten), der Glasindustrie, metallverarbeitenden Industrie, der Pyrotechnik und in der Medizin. In Zahncremes wird Strontiumchlorid als Mittel gegen Temperaturempfindlichkeit verwendet.
Darüber hinaus dient es in der Archäologie und Geologie als Sondenstoff (Tracer).

Strontium gelangt durch Verwitterungsprozesse und anthropogene Aktivitäten in Luft, Boden und Gewässer. Im Wasser liegt ein Teil gelöst vor. Es wird von Pflanzen aufgenommen.

Menschen nehmen Strontium über Luft, Wasser und Nahrung auf.

Strontiumverbindungen sind meist untoxisch. Im Organismus verhält sich Strontium ähnlich wie Calcium und wird in Knochen und Zähne eingebaut. Hierin liegt die Gefährlichkeit des langlebigen radioaktiven Isotops 90Sr, das bei Kernwaffenexplosionen und Reaktorunfällen freigesetzt wird und zu Krebs führen kann. Entsprechend ist 90Sr als kanzerogen eingestuft. Die Halbwertszeit von 90Sr beträgt 28,6 Jahre.

Probenarten

Studentenkollektive Je zur Hälfte weibliche und männliche Studenten im Alter von 20 bis 29 Jahren.

Probenahmegebiete

Standorte Humanproben 4 Universitätsstädte als Standorte für die Probenahme.

Untersuchungszeitraum

1993 - 2018