Lead-in Petrol Act: how legislation reduced chemical exposure of man and large parts of the environment?

Based on the Lead-in-Petrol Act, atmospheric lead emissions in Germany has dropped by 65% from 1985 to 1995. Since the Act became effective lead concentrations in humans and in terrestrial environmental specimens decreased contemporaneous to the decline in consumption of leaded petrol. However, aquatic specimens are not showing a clear decrease of lead exposure.

The Lead-in Petrol Act, implemented to reduce air lead pollution by leaded gasoline, took effect in Germany in 1971. Main contents of this law were the reduction of lead content in gasoline proceeding to the ban of leaded gasoline as such. Some European countries banned leaded gasoline as late as the year 2000.

Human exposure to lead

The lead concentration in whole blood of students from Münster dropped from over 70 µg/L (1981) in 26 years by approx. 83% to values below 15 µg/L (2008). In recent years, lead exposure has remained constantly low: in 2018 the mean lead concentration was only about 10 µg/L.
Based on the data of the Environmental Specimen Bank, the reference values for lead exposure of the general population were adjusted by the German Human Biomonitoring Commission in 2018: for 18-69 year old men from 90 µg/L to 40 µg/L and for 18-69 year old women from 70 µg/L to 30 µg/L. These values are still clearly undercut by the students. In view of the absence of an effective threshold and due to the MAK Commission's classification of lead in category 2 ("to be regarded as carcinogenic to humans"), the Commission has suspended the Human-Biomonitoring values for lead in the blood of all groups of people.

Lead in whole blood of the students from Münster since 1981
 Fig. 1: Lead in whole blood of the students from Münster since 1981 Zoom in
 

Comparison of East and West Germany

Early measurements showed slightly higher levels of lead in the whole blood of volunteers from the cities in East-Germany (Halle/Saale and Greifswald) compared to the volunteers from the cities in West-Germany (Münster and Ulm). Current data from all four locations is now very similar.

Lead in whole blood of the students from all sampling sites since 1992
 Fig. 2: Lead in whole blood of the students from all sampling sites since 1992 Zoom in
 
 

Contamination of terrestrial environmental specimens

Decreasing lead concentrations were also apparent in terrestrial environmental specimens. During the study period lead concentrations in spruce shoots and poplar leaves from the Saarland conurbation decreased by a factor of 4 to 8 to levels below 1 µg/g dry matter.

Lead in common spruce since 1985 rsp. 1992
 Fig. 3: Lead in common spruce since 1985 resp. 1992 Zoom in
Lead in lombardy poplar since 1991
 Fig. 4: Lead in lombardy poplar since 1991 Zoom in
 
 

Contamination of the aquatic environment

In marine and fresh water ecosystems no comparable trends are detectable up to now. This is mainly due to the fact that the nondegradable lead accumulates in sediments.
Lead concentrations in common mussels from Eckwarderhörne (North Sea) varied between 1,9 and 3.7 µg/g dry weight (dw) during the study period. Similar levels, i.e.  1.9 - 3.5 µg/g dw, were determined in mussel samples from the Baltic Sea (Darßer Ort).  By contrast, lead concentrations in common mussels from remote sampling sites in the North Sea (Königshafen and südlich Lister Hafen) were considerably lower (i.e. 1.0 - 2.3 µg/g dw). 

Lead in common mussels from the North and Baltic Sea since 1986 resp. 1992
 Fig. 5: Lead in common mussels from the North and Baltic Sea since 1986 resp. 1992 Zoom in
 

In recent years lead concentrations in mussels from both, Baltic and North Sea, are near or within the range of background levels defined by the OSPAR Commission (i.e. 0.01 - 0.19 µg/g wet weight). 

Information on the evaluation of lead contamination in mussels

The European Commission has set a maximum level of lead in mussels at 1.5 mg/g ww. In 2010, wet weight-based lead concentrations in mussels from the Baltic and the North Sea were 0.1 µg/g (Baltic Sea) and 0.08 resp. 0.16 µg/g (North Sea) and thus far below the EU-limit value.

Updated at: 2019-03-07

Benzinbleigesetz: Wie ein Gesetz die Schadstoffbelastung von Mensch und weiten Teilen der Umwelt verringert.

Aufgrund des Benzinbleigesetzes sanken die atmosphärischen Emissionen von Blei in Deutschland von 1985 bis 1995 um bis zu 65%. Parallel zum Rückgang des Verbrauchs an bleihaltigem Benzin nahm die Bleikonzentration in Humanproben und terrestrischen Umweltproben seit Inkrafttreten des Gesetzes kontinuierlich ab. In Proben aus marinen und Fließgewässer-Ökosystemen ist ein eindeutiger Trend zur Abnahme der Bleibelastung jedoch nicht festzustellen.

Das Gesetz zur Verminderung von Luftverunreinigungen durch Bleiverbindungen in Ottokraftstoffen für Kraftfahrzeugmotore trat in Deutschland im Jahre 1971 in Kraft. Neben der Reduktion des Bleigehalts in Benzin führte das Gesetzt schlussendlich zum Verbot von verbleitem Benzin. Einige europäische Länder verboten verbleites Benzin jedoch erst im Jahr 2000.

Belastung des Menschen

Die Bleikonzentration im Vollblut der Studierenden aus Münster sank von über 70 µg/L (1981) innerhalb von 26 Jahren um ca. 83% auf Werte unterhalb von 15 µg/L (2008). In den letzten Jahren verbleibt die Bleiexposition konstant niederig: 2018 betrug die mittlere Bleikonzentration nur noch ca. 10 µg/L.
Basierend auf den Daten der Umweltprobenbank wurden die Referenzwerte zur Bleibelastung der Allgemeinbevölkerung durch die Kommission Human-Biomonitoring im Jahr 2018 angepasst: für 18-69-jährige Männer von 90 µg/L auf 40 µg/L und für 18-69-jährige Frauen von 70 µg/L  auf 30 µg/L. Diese Werte werden von den Studierenden weiterhin deutlich unterschritten. In Anbetracht des Fehlens einer Wirkschwelle und auf Grund der Einstufung der MAK-Kommission von Blei in die Kategorie 2 („als Krebs erzeugend für den Menschen anzusehen“) hat die Kommission die Human-Biomonitoring-Werte für Blei im Blut aller Personengruppen ausgesetzt.

Blei im Vollblut der Studierenden aus Münster seit 1981
Abb. 1: Blei im Vollblut der Studierenden aus Münster seit 1981 Vergrößert anzeigen
 

Ost-West Vergleich

Waren zu Beginn der Messungen im Ost-West Vergleich zwischen den Kollektiven Halle/Saale und Greifswald sowie Münster und Ulm noch geringe Unterschiede feststellbar - mit tendenziell etwas höheren Bleigehalten im Vollblut von Probanden aus den neuen Bundesländern - so sind die Daten aller vier Standorte mittlerweile sehr ähnlich. 

Blei im Vollblut der Studierenden aller UPB-Standorte seit 1992
Abb. 2: Blei im Vollblut der Studierenden aller UPB-Standorte seit 1992 Vergrößert anzeigen
 

Belastung von terrestrischen Umweltproben

In Fichtentrieben und Pappelblättern aus dem Saarländischen Verdichtungsraum sank die Bleikonzentration von 1985 bzw. 1991 bis zu den letzten Untersuchungsjahren um den Faktor 4 bis 8 auf Werte unterhalb von 1 µg/g TG.

Blei in Fichtentrieben seit 1985 bzw. 1992
 Abb. 3: Blei in Fichtentrieben seit 1985 bzw. 1992 Vergrößert anzeigen
 
Blei in Pappelblättern seit 1991
 Abb. 4: Blei in Pappelblättern seit 1991 Vergrößert anzeigen
 

Belastung der aquatischen Umwelt

In Proben aus marinen und Fließgewässer-Ökosystemen ist ein eindeutiger Trend zur Abnahme der Bleibelastung seit Inkrafttreten des Benzinbleigesetzes nicht festzustellen. Der Hauptgrund hierfür ist, dass sich das nicht abbaubare Blei in Sedimenten anreichert.

In Miesmuschel-Homogenaten von Eckwarderhörne (Nordsee) wurden im Untersuchungszeitraum Bleigehalte zwischen 1,9 und 3,7 µg/g TG gemessen. Ähnliche Konzentrationen finden sich in Miesmuscheln von der Ostsee-Probenahmefläche Darßer Ort (1,9 - 3,5 µg/g TG). Dagegen waren die Bleigehalte in Miesmuschel-Homogenaten aus dem Sylt-Römö-Watt (südlich Lister Hafen und Königshafen) über den gesamten Beobachtungszeitraum niedriger (ca. 1,0 - 2,3 µg/g TG).

Als Vergleichswert wird die von der Oslo/Paris-Kommission (OSPAR) empfohlene Hintergrund- bzw. Referenzkonzentration für Blei in Miesmuscheln von 0,01-0,19 µg/g, bezogen auf das Frischgewicht (FG) herangezogen. Anhand der nachgewiesenen Bleikonzentrationen von 0,10 µg/g FG (Ostsee) bis 0,16 µg/g FG (Nordsee) sind die hier untersuchten Proben als wenig belastet einzustufen.

Blei in Miesmuscheln seit 1986 bzw. 1992
 Abb. 5: Blei in Miesmuscheln seit 1986 bzw. 1992 Vergrößert anzeigen
 

Bewertungshinweise für Miesmuscheln

Für die Bewertung der Schadstoffkonzentrationen im Hinblick auf das Schutzgut „menschliche Gesundheit“ ist der von der Kommission der Europäischen Gemeinschaften festgelegte Höchstgehalt für Blei (1,5 mg/kg FG) maßgeblich.
Die im Jahr 2010 nachgewiesenen Bleikonzentrationen in Miesmuschelproben lagen mit 0,10 mg/kg FG (Ostsee) und 0,08 bzw. 0,16 mg/kg FG (Nordsee) deutlich unterhalb dieses Höchstgehalts.

Aktualisiert am: 07.03.2019

Weiterführende Informationen

Verweise auf externe Informationen und gesetzliche Regelungen