Glyphosate

N-(Phosphonomethyl)glycine; formula: C3H8NO5P ; CAS Registry Number: 1071-83-6
Structure of glyphosate
Source: PubChem

Widespread herbicide whose risk potential for health and the environment is currently under discussion

Glyphosate is a highly effective herbicide. Since the mid-1970s it is the active ingredient of numerous broad-spectrum herbicides such as Roundup. Glyphosate is used worldwide in large quantities both in agriculture and in private households against all kinds of weeds. The widespread use of glyphosate leads to a substantial loss of biodiversity in the environment. Moreover, it promotes the emergence of glyphosate-resistant weeds which requires the application of other often more toxic plant protection products.

Glyphosate binds tightly to soil particles and leaching into the groundwater is usually low. Main metabolite of glyphosate is Aminomethylphosphonic acid (AMPA). Its degradation in soil depends strongly on the respective soil properties and varies between a few days and several months.
The acute toxicity of glyphosate to animals is relatively low because the substance specifically acts on an enzyme found only in plants, fungi and some bacteria. However, long-term studies indicate potential effects on vertebrates such as liver and kidney toxicity and endocrine effects. Moreover, there is evidence that the incidence of certain cancers in humans is related to glyphosate.
The environmental behavior of glyphosate may be altered by other ingredients of glyphosate-containing plant protection products such as additives which increase the uptake of glyphosate in plants. The commercial products may therefore be more toxic than the pure active ingredient.

More details

Substances

Glyphosate Very effective herbicide and active ingredient of numerous pesticides
AMPA Aminomethylphosphonic acid (AMPA) is the main metabolite of the herbicide glyphosate. Its degradation rate in soil is lower compared to glyphosate which often results in relatively higher AMPA concentrations in the environment. The acute toxicity of AMPA is low.

Specimen

Students Student groups with an even number of female and male students at the age of 20 to 29.

Sampling area

Sampling sites (humans) 4 university cities as sampling areas.

Sampling period

2001 - 2015

Extended information

Links to external information and legislation

Literature

Glyphosat

N-(Phosphonomethyl)glycin; Formel: C3H8NO5P ; CAS-Nummer: 1071-83-6
Struktur von Glyphosat
Quelle: PubChem

Weit verbreitetes Herbizid, dessen Gefahrenpotenzial für Gesundheit und Umwelt derzeit diskutiert wird

Glyphosat ist ein sehr wirksames Herbizid, das seit Mitte der 1970er Jahren Bestandteil zahlreicher Breitbandherbizide wie z. B. Roundup ist. Es wird weltweit in großen Mengen sowohl in der Landwirtschaft als auch in Privathaushalten gegen Unkräuter aller Art eingesetzt. In der Umwelt führt der Einsatz von Glyphosat zu einem Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt. Darüber fördert er das Entstehen von Glyphosat-resistenten Unkräutern, die mit anderen, teilweise giftigeren Pflanzenschutzmitteln bekämpft werden müssen.

Glyphosat bindet fest an Bodenpartikel, so dass meist nur geringe Mengen ins Grundwasser gelangen. Hauptmetabolit von Glyphosat ist Aminomethylphosphonsäure (AMPA). Die Abbaugeschwindigkeit im Boden hängt wesentlich von der  Bodenbeschaffenheit ab und schwankt zwischen wenigen Tagen und mehreren Monaten.
Da der Stoff spezifisch auf ein Enzym wirkt, das nur bei Pflanzen, Pilzen und einigen Bakterien vorkommt ist seine akute Toxizität gegenüber Tieren relativ gering. Langzeitstudien deuten jedoch auf potenzielle Leber- und Nierentoxizität und auf endokrine Effekte bei Wirbeltieren hin. Darüber hinaus gibt es Hinweise, dass das Auftreten bestimmter Tumoren bei Menschen mit Glyphosat zusammenhängt.
Das Umweltverhalten von Glyphosat kann sich durch andere Inhaltsstoffe von Glyphosat-haltigen Pflanzenschutzmitteln verändern, wie z. B. durch Zusatzstoffe, die die Aufnahme von Glyphosat in Pflanzen erhöhen. Kommerzielle Pflanzenschutzmittel können daher toxischer sein, als der reine Wirkstoff Glyphosat.

Weitere Details

Untersuchte Substanzen

Glyphosat Sehr wirksames Herbizid und Wirkstoff zahlreicher Pflanzenschutzmittel
AMPA Aminomethylphosphonsäure (AMPA) ist der Hauptmetabolit von Glyphosat. Im Boden wird es langsamer abgebaut als die Ausgangssubstanz, so dass seine Umweltkonzentrationen oft höher sind als die von Glyphosat. AMPA ist akut nur gering toxisch.

Probenarten

Studentenkollektive Je zur Hälfte weibliche und männliche Studenten im Alter von 20 bis 29 Jahren.

Probenahmegebiete

Standorte Humanproben 4 Universitätsstädte als Standorte für die Probenahme.

Untersuchungszeitraum

2001 - 2015

Weiterführende Informationen

Verweise auf externe Informationen und gesetzliche Regelungen

Literaturangaben