Bisphenol A

BPA; 4,4'-isopropylidene-diphenol; formula: C15H16O2; CAS Registry Number: 80-05-7
Structure of Bisphenol A
Source: GSBL Joint Substance Database

Commercially important precursor of polymers like polycarbonates and epoxy resins

Bisphenol A (BPA) belongs to the group of aromatic carbon compounds with two phenol rings. It is an important industrial chemical which is used mainly in the production of polycarbonates and epoxy resins. Furthermore, BPA is present in plasticizers and thermal paper, e.g. sales slips and is the parent compound of the flame retardant Tetrabromobisphenol A (TBBPA).

BPA can be released from the polymer matrix. This is especially problematic when using polycarbonates and epoxy resins in food industry, for instance in baby bottles, food containers and protective linings of cans and metal lids where released BPA results in a contamination of food. BPA may enter the environment either directly or following the degradation of BPA-containing products. It is mainly present in waters while its concentration in air and soil is much lower. Under aerobic conditions it is biodegraded. Nevertheless, BPA is widely distributed which points towards constant new emissions.

BPA is an endocrine disruptor and is suspected to be neurotoxic. Human exposure is primarily through contaminated food but also through skin absorption, e.g. by contact with sales slips of thermal paper. In the body the toxicologically relevant unconjugated BPA is rapidly metabolised to BPA-glucuronide and BPA-sulphate to facilitate renal excretion. Total BPA comprises unconjugated and conjugated BPA.

Since 2010 resp. 2011 the use of BPA in baby bottles is banned in Canada and in the European Union.

Substances

Total Bisphenol A Total Bisphenol A is the sum of unconjugated and conjugated BPA.

Specimen

Students Student groups with an even number of female and male students at the age of 20 to 29.

Sampling area

Sampling sites (humans) 4 university cities as sampling areas.

Sampling period

1995 - 2009

Extended information

Links to external information and legislation

Literature

Bisphenol A

BPA; 4,4'-Isopropylidendiphenol; Formel: C15H16O2; CAS-Nummer: 80-05-7
Struktur von Bisphenol A
Quelle: GSBL Stoffdatenpool

Wirtschaftlich wichtiger Ausgangsstoff für  Kunststoffe wie Polycarbonate und Epoxydharze

Bisphenol A (BPA) gehört zu den aromatischen Kohlenwasserstoffen mit zwei Phenolringen. Es ist eine wichtige Industriechemikalie, die vor allem bei der Herstellung von Polycarbonaten und Epoxydharzen verwendet wird. Außerdem findet es sich in Weichmachern und Thermopapieren, wie z.B. Kassenbons und ist der Ausgangsstoff für das Flammschutzmittel Tetrabrombisphenol A (TBBPA).

Insbesondere bei der Verwendung von Polycarbonaten und Epoxydharzen im Lebensmittelbereich, z.B. in Babyflaschen, Lebensmittelbehältern und Schutzauskleidung von Dosen und Metalldeckeln, kann BPA sich aus der Kunststoffmatrix lösen und zu einer Belastung von Lebensmitteln führen. In die Umwelt gelangt BPA entweder direkt oder durch den Abbau BPA-haltiger Produkte. Es findet sich vorwiegend in Gewässern, während Boden und Luft deutlich geringere Konzentrationen aufweisen. Unter aeroben Bedingungen wird es rasch abgebaut. Trotzdem ist es in der Umwelt weit verbreitet, was auf ständige Neu-Emissionen hindeutet.

BPA ist endokrin wirksam und steht im Verdacht, neurotoxisch zu sein. Menschen nehmen BPA hauptsächlich über belastete Nahrung und über die Haut auf, z.B. bei Kontakt mit Thermopapier. Im Körper wird das toxikologisch relevante nicht konjugierte BPA relativ schnell zu BPA-Glucuronid und BPA-Sulfat metabolisiert und mit dem Urin ausgeschieden. Gesamt Bisphenol A umfasst sowohl nicht konjugiertes als auch konjugiertes BPA.

Seit 2010 bzw. 2011 darf BPA in Kanada und in der EU nicht mehr in Babyflaschen eingesetzt werden.

Untersuchte Substanzen

Gesamt Bisphenol A Gesamt Bisphenol A ist die Summe aus nicht konjugiertem und konjugiertem BPA.

Probenarten

Studentenkollektive Je zur Hälfte weibliche und männliche Studenten im Alter von 20 bis 29 Jahren.

Probenahmegebiete

Standorte Humanproben 4 Universitätsstädte als Standorte für die Probenahme.

Untersuchungszeitraum

1995 - 2009

Weiterführende Informationen

Verweise auf externe Informationen und gesetzliche Regelungen

Literaturangaben