Forestry ecosystems

Almost a third of Germany is covered in forest, most of it under productive forestry management.

Forestry ecosystems differ from ancient woodland in various respects, including a modified structure (composition of species and age of trees), direct human substance and energy input (use of fertilizers and pesticides), substantial biomass withdrawal (logging) and, in places, substantially altered soils, such as substance shifts, acidification, densification.

Like other types of woodland, forestry ecosystems are characterized by high biomass/surface ratios, creating sinks for air-borne pollutants from far and near.

Apart from their recreational value for the population, woodland ecosystems have a prolific material and energy balance, so that they exercise important functions in the planet's carbon and water cycles.

Because of their substantial ecological importance and their sensitivity (new kinds of forest damage), there is an urgent and vital need for environment watch programmes, incorporating Germany's Environmental Specimen Bank, to observe these ecosystems.

The following sampling areas were chosen to represent forest ecosystems.

Sampling area

Solling Second highest and largest low mountain range in Northern Germany
BR Pfälzerwald Germany's largest connected forest area in a range of low mountains

Forst-Ökosysteme

Nahezu ein Drittel Deutschlands ist mit Wald bedeckt, der überwiegend forstwirtschaftlich genutzt wird.

Forst-Ökosysteme sind im Unterschied zu den naturnahen Wäldern u.a. gekennzeichnet durch eine veränderte Struktur (Aufbau, Arten- und Alterszusammensetzung), direkte anthropogene Stoff- und Energieeinträge (Einsatz von Düngern und Pflanzenschutzmitteln), einen großen Biomassenentzug (Holzgewinnung) und teilweise stark veränderte Böden, wie z.B. verschobene Stoffrelation, Versauerung, Verdichtung.

Gemeinsam mit allen Waldtypen zeichnen sich Forst-Ökosysteme darüber hinaus durch die hohen Biomassen pro Flächeneinheit aus, die als Speicher für nah- und ferntransportierte Luftschadstoffe fungieren.

Neben ihrem Erholungswert für die Bevölkerung, besitzen Waldökosysteme bedingt durch ihren hohen Stoff- und Energiehaushalt wichtige Funktionen für den Kohlenstoffkreislauf und den Wasserhaushalt der Erde.

Somit ist aufgrund ihrer großen ökologischen Bedeutung und ihrer Sensibilität (neuartige Waldschäden) die Überwachung dieser Ökosysteme im Rahmen von Umweltbeobachtungsprogrammen unter Einbeziehung der Umweltprobenbank des Bundes zwingend erforderlich.

Als Vertreter für Forst-Ökosysteme wurden folgende Probenahmegebiete ausgewählt.

Probenahmegebiete

Solling Zweithöchstes und zweitgrößtes Mittelgebirge in Norddeutschland
BR Pfälzerwald Größtes zusammenhängendes Waldgebiet Deutschlands