Accumulation patterns of heavy metals in the marine food web

The analysis of organisms from different trophic levels allows for the assessment of accumulation patterns of substances in the food web. Lead is not enriched in the marine food web. Highest levels are found in blue mussels. In contrast, mercury is clearly biomagnified with highest concentrations in herring gull eggs.

The set of marine organisms monitored in the Environmental Specimen Bank (ESB) belong to different levels of the marine food web.
Bladder wrack is a primary producer that builds up biomass from inorganic compounds utilizing photosynthesis. The trophic level of primary consumers (herbivores) is represented by blue mussels filtrating particles (mainly microalgae) out of the water. Secondary consumers like the eelpout are carnivores that feed mainly of primary consumers such as mussels, snails and worms. Herring gulls are omnivores and feed mainly on mussels and crustaceans.

Taking these different trophic levels into account allows the assessment of an accumulation pattern of pollutants in the environment. This can be exemplified by the heavy metals lead and mercury. Their accumulation pattern in marine food webs is quite well understood and is confirmed by the Environmental Specimen Bank data.

Lead is not enriched in the food web. Figures 1 and 2 demonstrate this exemplarily for blue mussels and herring gull eggs from the Schleswig-Holstein Wadden Sea for the period 2000 to 2010. The highest concentrations are found in blue mussels (mean: 1.69 ± 0.36 µg/g dry weight) und bladder wrack (mean: 0.51 ± 0.13 µg/g dw), whereas levels in eelpouts and herring gull eggs are significantly lower with mean concentrations of 0.07 ± 0.05 µg/g dw and 0.03 ± 0.01µg/g dw in eelpout liver and muscle, respectively, and 0.04 ± 0.03 µg/g dw in herring gull eggs.

Lead in blue mussels [µg/g dry weight] from the Schleswig-Holstein Wadden Sea in the BR/NP Wattenmeere
Fig. 1: Lead in blue mussels [µg/g dry weight] from the Schleswig-Holstein Wadden Sea in the BR/NP Wattenmeere Zoom in

 

Lead in herring gull eggs [ng/g dry weight] from the Schleswig-Holstein Wadden Sea in the BR/NP Wattenmeere.
Fig. 2: Lead in herring gull eggs [ng/g dry weight] from the Schleswig-Holstein Wadden Sea in the BR/NP Wattenmeere. Zoom in

 

These findings demonstrate that an environmental contamination with lead or substances with a similar accumulation pattern can best be assessed by analysing the trophic level of primary consumers like blue mussels. This is already practised in numerous national and international programmes.

In contrast, mercury is clearly biomagnified in the marine food web. This is illustrated in figures 3 and 4 with mercury contents in blue mussels and herring gull eggs from the Lower Saxony Wadden Sea in the years 2000 to 2010. Levels are lowest in bladder wrack (mean: 56.3 ± 8.3 ng/g dry weight) and increase with increasing trophic level (means: blue mussel: 278 ± 42.8 ng/g dw, eelpout muscle: 457 ± 100 ng/g dw; herring gull eggs: 566 ± 96.4 ng/g dw). 

Mercury in blue mussels [ng/g dry weight] from the Lower Saxony Wadden Sea in the BR/NP Wattenmeere
Fig. 3: Mercury in blue mussels [ng/g dry weight] from the Lower Saxony Wadden Sea in the BR/NP Wattenmeere Zoom in

 

Mercury in herring gull eggs [ng/g dry weight] from the Lower Saxony Wadden Sea in the BR/NP Wattenmeere
Fig. 4: Mercury in herring gull eggs [ng/g dry weight] from the Lower Saxony Wadden Sea in the BR/NP Wattenmeere Zoom in

 

Substances with such a potential for biomagnification are expected to significantly affect the top predators of a food web.

Conclusions

The accumulation pattern of the heavy metals lead and mercury shows exemplarily the different behaviour of substances in ecosystems. The analysis of representative organisms from different levels of the food web allows the identification of those organism groups which are most affected by a contaminant. This may serve as a basis for further programmes e.g. for monitoring the efficiency of regulatory measures.

Updated at: 2019-07-03

Extended information

Literature

Anreicherungsverhalten von Schwermetallen im marinen Nahrungsnetz

Die Untersuchung von Organismen verschiedener trophischer Ebenen ermöglicht Aussagen zum Anreicherungsverhalten von Stoffen im Nahrungsnetz. Blei wird im marinen Nahrungsnetz nicht angereichert. Die höchsten Konzentrationen finden sich in Miesmuscheln. Im Gegensatz dazu zeigt Quecksilber eine deutliche Anreicherung und die höchsten Konzentrationen werden in Möweneiern beobachtet.

Die ausgewählten marinen Probenarten der Umweltprobenbank (UPB)repräsentieren verschiedene Ebenen des marinen Nahrungsnetzes: Blasentang ist ein Primärproduzent, der mithilfe von Photosynthese Biomasse aus anorganischen Stoffen aufbaut. Die Ebene der Primärkonsumenten (Pflanzenfresser) wird durch die Miesmuschel repräsentiert, die Partikel (vor allem Mikroalgen) aus dem Wasser filtert. Dagegen ernähren sich Aalmuttern als Sekundärkonsumenten im Wesentlichen von Primärkonsumenten wie Muscheln, Schnecken und Würmern. Möwen sind omnivore Konsumenten (Allesfresser) im marinen Nahrungsnetz. Sie ernähren sich vor allem von Muscheln und Krebstieren. Sie erbeuten aber auch Nahrung auf dem Land.
Die Betrachtung dieser verschiedenen Nahrungsnetz-Ebenen ermöglicht es, das Anreicherungsverhalten von Schadstoffen im Ökosystem abzuschätzen und die durch einen Schadstoff besonders betroffenen Organismen zu identifizieren. Beispielhaft lässt sich dies für die Schwermetalle Blei und Quecksilber zeigen, deren Anreicherungsverhalten im marinen Nahrungsnetz weitgehend bekannt ist und durch die Daten der Umweltprobenbank bestätigt wird.

Blei wird im Nahrungsnetz nicht angereichert. Die Abbildungen 1 und 2 zeigen dies exemplarisch für Miesmuscheln und Möweneier aus dem Schleswig-Holsteinischen Wattenmeer für die Jahre 2000 bis 2010. Die höchsten Konzentrationen finden sich in Miesmuscheln (Mittelwert: 1,69 ± 0,36 µg/g Trockengewicht) und Blasentang (MW: 0,51 ± 0,13 µg/g TG), während die Gehalte in Aalmuttern (MW Leber: 0,07 ± 0,05 µg/g TG; MW Muskel: 0,03 ± 0,01 mg/g TG) und Möweneiern (MW: 0,04 ± 0,03 µg/g TG) deutlich geringer sind.

Blei [µg/g Trockengewicht] in Miesmuscheln aus dem Schleswig-Holsteinischen Wattenmeer im BR/NP Wattenmeere
Abb. 1: Blei [µg/g Trockengewicht] in Miesmuscheln aus dem Schleswig-Holsteinischen Wattenmeer im BR/NP Wattenmeere Vergrößert anzeigen

 

Blei in Silbermöweneiern [ng/g Trockengewicht] aus dem Schleswig-Holsteinischen Wattenmeer im BR/NP Wattenmeere.
Abb. 2: Blei in Silbermöweneiern [ng/g Trockengewicht] aus dem Schleswig-Holsteinischen Wattenmeer im BR/NP Wattenmeere. Vergrößert anzeigen

 

Um die ökosystemare Belastung mit Blei oder Stoffen mit ähnlichem Anreicherungsverhalten abzuschätzen, ist demnach die Untersuchung von Primärkonsumenten wie Muscheln sinnvoll und wird auch bereits in zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Programmen umgesetzt.

Dagegen zeigt sich bei Quecksilber eine deutliche Zunahme im Nahrungsnetz (Biomagnifikation). Für die Probenahmeflächen im Niedersächsischen Wattenmeer ist dies in den Abbildungen 3 und 4 anhand der Quecksilbergehalte in Miesmuscheln und Möweneiern für die Jahre 2000 bis 2012 veranschaulicht. Die niedrigsten Gehalte finden sich in Blasentang (MW: 56,3 ±  8,3 ng/g TG) und steigen mit zunehmender Ebene im Nahrungsnetz (Mittelwerte Miesmuschel: 278 ± 42,8 ng/g TG, Aalmutter Muskulatur: 457 ± 100 ng/g TG und Möwenei 566 ± 96,4 ng/g TG).

Quecksilber in Miesmuscheln [ng/g Trockengewicht] aus dem Niedersächsischen Wattenmeer im BR/NP Wattenmeere
Abb. 3: Quecksilber in Miesmuscheln [ng/g Trockengewicht] aus dem Niedersächsischen Wattenmeer im BR/NP Wattenmeere Vergrößert anzeigen

 

Quecksilber in Möweneiern [ng/g Trockengewicht] aus dem Niedersächsischen Wattenmeer im BR/NP Wattenmeere
Abb. 4: Quecksilber in Möweneiern [ng/g Trockengewicht] aus dem Niedersächsischen Wattenmeer im BR/NP Wattenmeere Vergrößert anzeigen

 

Stoffe mit einem derartigen Biomagnifikationspotential belasten die Endkonsumenten eines Nahrungsnetzes im besonderem Umfang.

Fazit

Das Anreicherungsmuster der Schwermetalle Blei und Quecksilber zeigt beispielhaft das unterschiedliche Verhalten von Stoffen in Ökosystemen. Durch die Untersuchung von repräsentativen Organismen verschiedener Ebenen des Nahrungsnetzes können die von einem Schadstoff besonders betroffenen Organismen identifiziert werden. Dies kann als Grundlage für weitere Monitoring-Programme wie beispielsweise der Überprüfung von regulatorischen Maßnahmen dienen.

Aktualisiert am: 03.07.2019

Weiterführende Informationen

Literaturangaben