Has the ban of persistent pesticides resulted in decreased environmental contamination?

The Pesticide Application Ordinance has led to a significant decline of environmental pollution by organochloro pesticides. Heptachlor, heptachlor epoxide and aldrin are no longer present in the environmental samples. Dieldrin is detected only in single samples and at low levels. DDT and its metabolites, however, are still present in the environment. DDT and DDE levels are considerably higher in samples from East Germany as compared to West Germany.

In the 1970s to early 1980s, many organochloro pesticides like Aldrin, Dieldrin, Heptachlor and Dichlorodiphenyltrichloroethane (DDT) were banned in the Federal Republic of Germany because of their high toxicity, persistence and potential for biomagnification. Since November 1992 the ban is regulated by the Pesticide Application Ordinance.

Contamination of environmental samples

Today, heptachlor and its metabolite heptachlor epoxide are no longer present in environmental samples. The same applies for aldrin. Dieldrin which is on one hand a degradation product of aldrin but on the other hand also directly used as pesticide is detectable only in single terrestrial and freshwater samples. Its concentration in marine samples stagnates at a very low level.

Comparison between East Germany and West Germany

In contrast to aldrin and heptochlor, DDT and its metabolites are still present in the environment. Contamination levels are considerably higher in samples from East Germany than in West German samples. Figure 1 shows this exemplarily for the metabolite DDE in herring gull eggs. These differences in contamination reflect previous differences in emissions in both parts of Germany. Whereas in the Federal Republic of Germany DDT was banned completely in 1972, its use in the former Democratic Republic of Germany was successively banned between 1971 and 1988.

p,p'-DDE in herring gull eggs from the Baltic Sea (Heuwiese) and the North Sea (Trischen and Mellum)
 Fig. 1: p,p'-DDE in herring gull eggs from the Baltic Sea (Heuwiese) and the North Sea (Trischen and Mellum) Zoom in

 

Extended information

Links to external information and legislation

Hat das Verbot persistenter Pflanzenschutzmittel zu einer Entlastung der Umwelt geführt?

Durch die Pflanzenschutz-Anwendungsverordnung hat sich die Umweltbelastung mit chlororganischen Pestiziden deutlich verringert. Heptachlor, Heptachlor Epoxid und Aldrin sind in den Umweltproben nicht mehr nachweisbar. Dieldrin findet sich nur noch vereinzelt in niedrigen Konzentrationen. Dagegen ist DDT nach wie vor nachweisbar, wobei Umweltproben aus den neuen Bundesländern deutlich höhere Gehalte an DDT und DDE aufweisen als Proben aus Westdeutschland.

Zahlreiche chlororganische Pestizide wie Aldrin, Dieldrin, Heptachlor und Dichlordiphenyltrichlorethan (DDT) wurden bereits in den 1970er bis frühen 1980er Jahren in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland aufgrund ihrer hohen Toxizität, ihrer Persistenz und ihres Biomagnifikationspotenzials verboten. Seit dem 22.11.1992 wird dieses vollständige Anwendungsverbot durch die Pflanzenschutz-Anwendungsverordnung vom 10.11.1992 geregelt.

Belastung von Umweltproben

Heute sind Heptachlor und das Abbauprodukt Heptachlorepoxid in den Umweltproben aus terrestrischen, limnischen und marinen Ökosystemen nicht mehr nachweisbar.
Auch Aldrin kann in den Umweltproben nicht mehr nachgewiesen werden. Dieldrin, zum einen Abbauprodukt von Aldrin zum anderen direkt als Schädlingsbekämpfungsmittel eingesetzt, ist in terrestrischen und limnischen-Ökosystemen nur noch vereinzelt nachzuweisen. In marinen Ökosystemen stagnieren die Dieldrinkonzentrationen auf einem sehr niedrigen Niveau.

Ost-West Vergleich

DDT ist in Gegensatz zu den oben beschriebenen Stoffen nach wie vor in der Umwelt präsent, wobei Umweltproben aus den neuen Ländern deutlich höher mit DDT und seinen Metaboliten kontaminiert sind als Umweltproben aus den alten Ländern. Hier spiegelt sich in allen beprobten Ökosystemtypen auch Jahre nach den erfolgten Anwendungsverboten die ursprünglich unterschiedliche Emissionssituation in den alten und neuen Ländern wider. DDT wurde 1972 in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und 1971 bis 1988 sukzessive in der DDR verboten.

p,p' - DDE in Möweneiern aus Ostsee (Heuwiese) und Nordsee (Trischen, Mellum)
 Abb. 1: p,p' - DDE in Möweneiern aus Ostsee (Heuwiese) und Nordsee (Trischen, Mellum) Vergrößert anzeigen

 

Weiterführende Informationen

Verweise auf externe Informationen und gesetzliche Regelungen