Stockholm Convention

POP-(Persistent Organic Pollutant) Convention. International agreement on the ban and restriction of certain persistent organic pollutants

The Convention was adopted in May 2001 and entered into force in May 2004. It regulates production and use of 12 persistent organic pollutants (“the Dirty Dozent”). Among them are 9 pesticides (aldrin, chlordane, DDT, dieldrin, endrin, heptachlor, hexachlorobenzene, mirex, toxaphen) as well as industrial chemicals (polychlorinated biphenyl ethers (PCBs)), and by-products (polychlorinated dibenzodioxins and polychlorinated dibenzofurans).
In 2009 additional substances were added to the list, i.e. alpha-hexachlorocyclohexane, beta-hexachlorocyclohexane, chlordecone, hexabromobiphenyl, hexabromodiphenyl ether, heptabromodiphenyl ether, lindane, pentachlorobenzene, perfluorooctane sulfonic acid (PFOS) and its salts, perfluorooctane sulfonyl fluoride, tetrabromodiphenyl ether and pentabromodiphenyl ether